Sogetsu School of Ikebana

Sogetsu School was founded by Sofu Teshigahara in 1927. While many believed practicing Ikebana meant following the established form, he believed Ikebana is creative art that can take many forms and expressions. Anyone can enjoy Sogetsu Ikebana anytime, anywhere, using any material. Sogetsu Ikebana aim to be present, to be alive and to be flexible. Many beautiful flowers and plants are the products of Mother Nature but Ikebana is the product of man’s creativity and imagination in the arrangement. Sogetsu Ikebana can be arranged in any room of one’s home, in public spaces such as hotel lobbies, banquet rooms, department stores or out of door locations. Suitable for both Japanese and Western environments, it is one of the most contemporary ikebana schools of design.

Akane Teshigahara is the current and Fourth Iemoto (or headmaster), grand-daughter of Sofu Teshigahara, niece of Kasumi Teshigahara (2nd Iemoto) and daughter of Hiroshi Teshigahara (3rd Iemoto).

See more info at Sogetsu Headquarters

Sogetsu San Diego branch

Mrs. Sumiko Lahey started her class in 1969, in 1985 she was authorized by headquarters to form a Study Group. In 1990, the Sogetsu San Diego Branch was established and Mrs. Lahey was appointed as its First Founding Director. In 1996, Mrs. Barbara E. Church succeeded Mrs. Lahey as Director and in 2000, Mr. Ronald Searfoss succeeded Mrs. Church. Mrs.Hiroko Szechinski, was elected in 2001 and served for 19 years. In 2020, Yumi Rakers has elected as a director. During Pandemic, she has been conducing both Board and General meeting by Zoom.

Board Members

  • Director: Yumi Rakers
  • Deputy Director: Cecilia Carrick
  • Advisor: Hiroko Szechinski
  • Secretary: Judi Bowes
  • Treasure: Alja Mrak Tadel